After a thousand visits to sushi restaurants, I'd like to try some sake. While it's made from fermented rice, and should be technically gluten free, many many brands of sake add barley and other wheat bi-products for flavoring; or possibly to make it cheaper...or for other reasons unknown to me.
So far, this is what I've found:
Some less expensive Sake has a distilled grain spirit added before bottling, so always look for the word “Junmai” on the Sake bottle. Junmai means pure with no additional ingredients added.
And these two brands are confirmed to be gluten free:
Gekkeikan Sake - Traditional
Rock Sake Junmai Ginjo, the most common form of sake; and Rock Sake Cloud which is a roughly filtered form known as nigori sake.
Do you have a brand of sake that you like and drink safely? If so, please comment below and let me know so I can add it to my list! I will be updating this post as I go along, hopefully finding more and more brands.