I'm not really a fan of quinoa and never was. I know that is blasphemy in the celiac and gluten free community, but I don't think it's a safe grain. I have had reactions to it before and it's not hard to figure out why. There is the possibility of regular cross contamination, just like with oats that aren't certified and grown GF.
The New York Times included this seemingly unknown tidbit of information about quinoa in a piece about Passover yesterday. Here's an excerpt:
"Increasing demand here for quinoa - which can be boiled or otherwise prepared in a variety of rice-like dishes - has driven up the price, persuading many farmers who grew wheat, corn or barley in Bolivia and Peru to plant quinoa as well, said Rabbi Menachem Genack, director of the kosher department of the New York-based Orthodox Union, the world's largest kashrut certification agency.
And there is the potential rub, Rabbi Genack explained. Some inspectors have found traces of wheat, and other grains susceptible to leavening in the cooking process, mixed in with quinoa shipped by some farmers, he said.
"They may be using the same equipment or bags to harvest a field of quinoa, and a field of something else," he said. "Things easily get mixed up."